Media Advisory: Seattle Fire Department to Honor Heroes

Contact:          Corey Orvold, PIO, (206) 386-1679


The Seattle Fire Department and the Seattle 4 Rotary Club will honor the fire department’s 2015 award recipients. Each year, department members nominate their colleagues and Seattle residents for their exemplary service and dedication to the community. This is the first year the department has partnered with the Seattle 4 Rotary Club, to provide an event that allows the award recipients to be recognized by the community.

What:              Seattle Fire Department’s 2015 Annual Award Ceremony; including presentation of seven “Employee of the Year” Awards, 19 Commendations and Unit Citations, and the Rotary, “Service above Self” Award to Canlis Restaurant.

When:             Wednesday, May 18, 2016, 12 – 1:30 p.m.

Where:            Washington State Convention Center, 800 Convention Center Place, Room 6A

Among those being honored:

Firefighter-Paramedic Patrick Kyles – Receiving a Commendation for his actions while responding to the tragic Mass Casualty Incident involving a “Ride the Ducks” vehicle and a charter bus on the Aurora Bridge. Firefighter-Paramedic Kyles assisted in the assessment of the 51 patients involved in the collision ensuring that the most seriously injured patients received immediate treatment and transport to area hospitals.

Molly Seaman – Receiving the Fire Chief’s Medal for putting herself in harm’s way when she saw her neighbor in need of help. On April 26, 2015, the 12-year old scaled an eight-foot fence before entering a smoke filled hallway to assist a resident from their burning apartment.

Canlis Restaurant – Receiving the Rotary “Service Above Self” Award for providing first responders food and support following the Aurora Bridge Mass Casualty Incident on September 24, 2015. First responders were on scene for more than 11 hours and food provided by Canlis helped enable them to stay focused and available.

The 2015 Employees of the Year:

  • Customer Service Award – Sundae Garner, Fire Equipment Technician, 11-year department veteran.
  • Customer Service Award – Frankie Fox, Administration Support Specialist III, 34-year department veteran, retired.
  • Civilian Employee of the Year – Dori Towler, Senior Personnel Specialist, 14-year department veteran.
  • Firefighter of the Year – Firefighter Matt Runte, 14-year department veteran.
  • Officer of the Year – Lieutenant Tim Frank, 17-year department veteran.
  • Chief of the Year – Battalion Chief Paul Foerster, 27-year department veteran.
  • Lifetime Achievement Award – Michael E. Walsh, served as the Interim Fire Chief in 2015, 44-year veteran of the department, retired.