New Commissioners Sought For Seattle Design Commission

Mayor Ed Murray is looking for a new landscape architect member of the Seattle Design Commission to fill an upcoming vacancy. The term will begin following the appointment in April 2015; the appointment ends in March 2017.

Design Commission members are appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the City Council for up to two two‐year terms. The 10‐member commission is made up of architects, artists, urban designers, environmental designers, urban planners, landscape architects, engineers, members‐at‐large, and one member from Get Engaged, the YMCA Young Civic Leaders Program.

Established in 1968, the Seattle Design Commission advises City officials on the design and environmental effects of capital improvement projects, or projects that impact the public realm. Members also help select consultants for City projects. The commission meets during the day on the first and third Thursdays of each month. In addition, members serve on project subcommittees and represent the commission on other advisory boards. Members work an average of 15 to 20 hours a month. Members cannot contract with the City on any capital improvement project reviewed by the Commission. Commission members receive an hourly rate as compensation for their service.

To be considered, please send a letter of interest and resume by February 16, 2015, to:

Mayor Ed Murray c/o
Michael Jenkins, Director – Seattle Design Commission
Department of Planning and Development
City of Seattle
700 Fifth Ave., Ste. 2000
PO Box 34019
Seattle, WA 98124‐4019
(206) 386-4024